Wednesday, October 15, 2014

10 Food Facts That May Surprise You

From the color of foods to their fat content and nutritional value, there are facts about what we consume, their origin and manufacture which is not common knowledge and rarely promoted as truth. Here are 10 food facts that still surprise the majority. 

1. Orange Tomatoes May Be Healthier Than Red Ones  

red tomato orange tomatoUsually, deep color in fruits and vegetables indicates abundant antioxidants – compounds that have been linked to heart and brain health – so it makes sense to consume produce with the deepest hues. But a study by Ohio State University researchers, published in the Journal of Agricultural Food and Chemistry, found that a variety of orange-colored tomatoes called Tangerine provided more readily available lycopene than did red tomatoes. Lycopene is an antioxidant that has been shown to reduce risks of cancer, cardiovascular disease and macular degeneration. Tangerine tomatoes are not available in grocery stores, but the researchers suggested that the advantage might extend to other orange- and gold-colored tomatoes.

2. Gelatin is Made From Cattle Hides and Pork Skins

Gelatin is used to make many desserts, such as jelly powders, marshmallows and frozen cakes. Gelatin is made from the collagen of animal skin and bones. Gelatin melts to a liquid state when heated, and solidifies when it cools. You may see gelatin form if you use animal bones to make your own soup stock and cool the broth.

Gelatin is the main ingredient in jelly powder. On its website, Kraft Canada states that the gelatin used in JELL-O is extracted only from cattle hides and pork skins, and only from the hides of healthy animals that have passed strict inspections and are found fit for human consumption. You do not recognize gelatin’s taste as an animal product because, as Kraft says, “during the manufacturing of gelatin, chemical changes take place so that the final product, the composition, and the identity of the original material is completely eliminated.” If you have chosen to follow a vegetarian or vegan diet, you may prefer to avoid eating products made with gelatin.

For the rest of the story: http://www.wakingtimes.com/2014/10/14/10-food-facts-may-surprise/

No comments:

Post a Comment