Monday, March 3, 2014

Health Basics: Xanthan gum is mutated corn sugar fermented with bacteria

Xanthan gum was discovered in the 1960s and was approved in 1968 as a food additive in the USA and Europe. It is mostly used as an emulsifier. It is made from bacteria that create black spots on broccoli and cauliflower. Xanthan gum at first is a slimy, gooey, fermented substance, but during processing it's dried up and finally ground into a fine white powder. You can bet your first and last mutated gene that the corn sugar used to make xanthan gum is not certified organic, but rather genetically modified.

So why then is xanthan found in some organic products? They must be using organic corn, but if it doesn't say certified organic corn right on the label, I'm not touching it. Plus, xanthan gum can also be derived from dairy, wheat and soy, which is almost always GMO, so people with those allergies watch out! You're catching a double dose of one of those extra "little" ingredients you thought wasn't affecting your system. You thought wrong. It ALL adds up. (

This thickening agent contains a lot of fiber also, causing digestive irritation and other disruptions like bloating, but that's just the beginning. That's just your body telling you that you just ate something synthetic and toxic. Xanthan is substituted for gluten in many foods, because it has that "sticky" consistency or quality, so all these folks looking for gluten-free foods could be consistently eating some GMO "gum." Maybe that's what's stuck in those divots, causing you abdominal pain. Think about it, if you chewed gum all day and swallowed it when you were done chewing, how would you feel after three to five slices? Take a good guess what xanthan gum is doing to your insides.

Xanthan gum - just another industrial, processed food byproduct

Wherever you find xanthan gum listed as an ingredient, expect to find other sinister additives (food agent criminals) lurking in the same product. Typical accomplices include "natural flavors" which are not usually in accordance with vegan or vegetarian standards. Natural flavors themselves add a twist to what you will eat. In fact, glutamates, animal products and even allergens may be the actual source of those so-called "natural flavors," and typically are exactly that.

For the rest of the story:

No comments:

Post a Comment